Cancer Currents for July 2008

News and Notes
Smoke Free Campus at DHMC

Tobacco-free icon

Beginning on July 4, 2008, the entire Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center campus will be smoke- and tobacco-free.

DHMC prides itself on its mission as a healthcare institution that provides the best care to every patient, every time, and supports the health of every employee. To create a healthier environment for everyone at DHMC, and to support those who have quit smoking or are trying to quit, we will be smoke-free and tobacco-free starting July 4, 2008. The policy is not intended to force people to quit; rather, it is intended to protect the health of all patients, visitors and employees.

Joyce DeLeo New Chair of Phamacology/Toxicology
Joyce DeLeo photo

Joyce DeLeo, PhD

Joyce DeLeo, PhD has been named chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology at DMS, replacing Ethan Dmitrovsky, MD, who has stepped down to focus his attention on responsibilities related to his receiving the prestigious American Cancer Society Clinical Research Professor Award. DeLeo is the Irene Heinz Given Endowed Professor of Pharmacology. DeLeo has been instrumental in developing and directing the Neuroscience Center at Dartmouth, and has been involved in the development of theProgram in Experimental and Molecular Medicine, an interdisciplinary graduate program. The focus of her lab is to better understand central nervous system and neuroimmune mechanisms that lead to chronic pain.

Wendy Wells is Acting Chair of Pathology
Wendy Wells photo

Wendy Wells, MB, BS

Wendy Wells, MB, BS, MSc, FRCPath, has been appointed acting chair of the Department of Pathology. She is a member of the Cancer Control Research Program at Norris Cotton Cancer Center and is co-founder and director of the Pathology Translation Research Program. She co-leads the NCI Pathology Working Group in the Network for Translational Research in Optical Imaging, Cancer Imaging Program. She collaborates with many clinicians, scientists, and engineers at Dartmouth.

Camilo Fadul Receives the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award
Dr. Camilo Fadul photo

Camilo Fadul, MD

At Dartmouth Medical School graduation exercises on June 6, Camilo Fadul, MD, received the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award. Fadul is the Medical Director of the Neuro-Oncology Program. The Arnold P. Gold Foundation sponsors the annual Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Awards for a graduating student and faculty member at nearly 80 of the nation's medical schools. This award is presented to the student and faculty member who best demonstrate the Foundation's ideals of outstanding compassion in the delivery of care, respect for patients, their families, and healthcare colleagues, as well as demonstrated clinical excellence.

Upcoming Events
July 12: The Prouty
Prouty photo

The Prouty Bike and Walk Challenge will be held July 12, 2008. Click here for more information about the event. Sign up now and help us reach our goal of $2,000,000 by biking 100, 50 or 25 miles up the Connecticut River Valley or walking 5, 10, 15, or 20K on wooded trails or through scenic Hanover. Bikers MUST REGISTER BY JULY 8. There will be no same day registration for bikers. Walkers can register at the Prouty website or on the day of the event. Join us for a great day of camaraderie and fun!

Read research scientist Charles Brenner's recent article from the Valley News about the importance of the Prouty.

Aug 10-13: Cancer Molecular Therapeutics Research Association (CMTRA)

The first meeting of the Cancer Molecular Therapeutics Research Association (CMTRA) will be held August 10-13, 2008, at Princeton University. CMTRA was established in January 2008 with the mission to provide a highly interactive forum for the presentation and discussion of novel drugs, drug targets and the preclinical and clinical development of novel cancer therapeutics. This will be achieved primarily through an annual meeting with scientific presentations at the cutting edge of translational science complemented by extensive discussion.

The CMTRA meeting is sponsored in part by a grant from the National Cancer Institute. The full program can be viewed at

Alan Eastman, PhD, co-director of the Molecular Therapeutics Research Program, is a founding board member and the treasurer of CMTRA.