Community Outreach and Engagement Team

Faculty leadership

Judy Rees, BM, BCh, PhD, MPH
Associate Director of Community Outreach and Engagement
Judith.R.Rees@dartmouth.edu

Dr. Rees is an Associate Professor of Epidemiology for the Geisel School of Medicine and the Director of the New Hampshire Cancer Registry. Her research interests include the analysis and interpretation of local and population-based registry data and the development of data infrastructures that can be used by researchers. In her role as NCCC’s Associate Director of Community Outreach and Engagement, Dr. Rees leads the COE team to ensure the cancer-related needs of our New Hampshire and Vermont catchment area are identified and addressed through research, outreach, and engagement.

Ardis Olson, MD
Primary Care Liaison
Ardis.L.Olson@dartmouth.edu

Dr. Olson is a Professor of Pediatrics and of Community and Family Medicine and has been involved in preventive health research activities in Vermont and New Hampshire for over 20 years. She has experience conducting research with community-based primary care practices as well as conducting studies in rural parts of the NCCC catchment area. Dr. Olson chairs our Primary Care Advisory Panel as they identify opportunities to engage primary care providers in our cancer research and outreach activities.

Office of Community Outreach and Engagement core team

Jenna Schiffelbein, MPH, CHES
Director, Office of Community Outreach and Engagement
Jenna.E.Schiffelbein@dartmouth.edu

Ms. Schiffelbein has led the day-to-day operations of NCCC's community-focused work since 2016. Ms. Schiffelbein develops opportunities for engaging with community organizations and community members in our research and outreach work. For example, Ms. Schiffelbein leads our Community Advisory Board, as well as our Community Research Ambassadors Together Ending Cancer (CREATE) program. Ms. Schiffelbein also leads the planning and implementation of projects to address the cancer burden in our catchment area, such as projects to promote cancer screenings.

Katie Lenhoff, MPH
Program Specialist
Katie.Lenhoff@dartmouth.edu

Ms. Lenhoff works closely with internal and external stakeholders as she leads several projects to improve the health of our community, including projects focused on tobacco and cancer screening.

Regina-Anne Cooper, MPH, LSSCGB
Program Specialist
Regina-Anne.E.Cooper@dartmouth.edu

As Program Specialist, Ms. Cooper leads several projects for the COE team, including projects related to HPV vaccination, clinical trials, and CREATE.

Laura Harrington, BA
Administrative Assistant
Laura.M.Harrington@dartmouth.edu

Ms. Harrington provides administrative support for the COE team and helps build strategic relationships in the community, as well as planning community outreach and engagement events.

Office of Community Outreach and Engagement support team

Jenn Alford-Teaster, MA, MPH
Senior Research Scientist
Jennifer.A.Alford-Teaster@dartmouth.edu

Ms. Alford-Teaster's research focuses on methods to measure disparities related to geographic access to health care services, with a particular focus on rural cancer care. She leads the expansion of the COE Cancer Data Portal, which maps data for our catchment area.

Heather Carlos, MS
Geospatial & Catchment Area Data Specialist
Heather.A.Carlos@dartmouth.edu

Ms. Carlos's role utilizes resources at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Health system, state tumor registries, and Census data to conduct geographic analyses that represent the Norris Cotton Cancer Center catchment area. These analyses help in identifying geographic areas that are experiencing cancer disparities.

Martha Goodrich, MS
Director - Dartmouth Hitchcock Tumor Registry
Martha.E.Goodrich@dartmouth.edu

Ms. Goodrich oversees the management of academic research studies with a focus on population-based health studies, and a deep understanding of the design, development, and oversight of large multi-center studies and collaborations. Ms. Goodrich brings important insights from her role as Director of the DH-H tumor registry, including an understanding of the flow of data from DH-H facilities that serve the catchment population.

Julie Weiss, MS
Statistical Analyst
Julia.E.Weiss@dartmouth.edu

Ms. Weiss analyzes data for the COE team, including data to describe the cancer burden in our catchment area.

Scientific advisory board

The Scientific Advisory Board provides guidance for the COE team from a clinical and research perspective. The board meets regularly to discuss how scientific research and community needs can be brought together in a meaningful way. Our scientific advisors include:

Yolanda Sanchez, PhD
Associate Director for Basic Sciences
Yolanda.Sanchez@dartmouth.edu

Konstantin Dragnev, MD
Associate Director for Clinical Research
Konstantin.H.Dragnev@dartmouth.edu

Anna Tosteson, ScD
Associate Director for Population Sciences
Anna.N.A.Tosteson@dartmouth.edu