Dartmouth Cancer Scholars

Dartmouth Cancer Scholars (DCS) is a selective program for undergraduate students from Dartmouth with demonstrated experience in cancer research or clinical oncology. The core of DCS is weekly meetings to discuss topics in cancer with experts from Dartmouth Cancer Center at Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center and Geisel School of Medicine.

Topics and approaches vary from scientific or research driven perspectives to clinical, psychological, and financial aspects of research, treatment, prevention or education. The goal is expanding students’ interests and awareness of opportunities in oncology by broadening their understanding of cancer.

Upper-class students of all majors are considered for the program via applications administered through the Nathan Smith Society email list in September. Dartmouth students with a variety of experiences generate full and rich discussions and DCS encourages all students who have an interest in cancer to apply. DCS meets Monday 4:00 to 5:30 pm at Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center in Lebanon, New Hampshire during Fall, Winter and Spring terms. During the pandemic, DCS met by teleconference.

The Dartmouth Oncology Certificate is awarded to undergraduates who have completed significant extracurricular work in cancer including intellectual engagement in laboratory science, shadowing clinicians, attending cancer-related conferences and academic events, and participating in the Dartmouth Cancer Scholars.

Student directorate


  • Isabella Fox '24
  • Sarah Lamson '24
  • Helah Snelling '25
  • Abdibaset Bare '25
  • 2022-2023
  • Anahita Kodali '23
  • Emma Kelly '23
  • Isabella Fox '24
  • Sarah Lamson '24


  • Ethan Aulwes '21
  • Jack Gourdeau '21
  • Carolina Guerrero '23
  • Anahita Kodali '23


  • Ethan Aulwes '21
  • Jack Gourdeau '21
  • Nishi Jain '21
  • Megan Zhou '21


  • Shepard Colby Conner '20
  • Julie Lim '20


  • Colby Conner '20
  • Nicole Knape '19
  • Elizabeth Terman '19


  • Edel Auh '18
  • Nicholas Bovio '18
  • Hie Ri Bae '18
  • Aaron J. Spiegelman '20